Ensemble New Babylon:
10 Jahre Ensemble New Babylon -
Konzert II


2022 Music

In 2022 the Ensemble New Babylon celebrates its tenth anniversary: with ten concerts at ten different locations and ten specially created commissioned pieces.

KONZERT II is a piece commissioned to Alexander F. Müller for flute, oboe, bass clarinet, drums, electric guitar, violin cello, and electronics. Since its foundation, the Ensemble New Babylon has performed more than 70 premieres. In the past decade, the ensemble created concert programs and went on tour with a main focus on Greece (2014), Poland (2015), Israel (2016), Argentina/Chile (2017), Iceland (2018), South Korea (2019), and Spain/Portugal (2022). The ENB does not pursue a concrete style—all artists have their own musical background that shapes the collective outcome.

Evening program

Compositions by Lula Romero, Fausto Romitelli, Carola Bauckholt, Wieland Hoban, Caspar Johannes Walter and Alexander F. Müller.

Lula Romero (1976): MTRAK (2018)
Fausto Romitelli (1963-2004): Trash TV Trance (2002)
Carola Bauckholt (
1959): Zopf (1992/94)
Wieland Hoban (1978): Orlog (2012)
Caspar Johannes Walter (
1964): durchscheinende Etüde VI/a (1992/93)
Alexander F. Müller (*1987): Shards (2022, UA)

Sonja Horlacher - flute
Benjamin Fischer - oboe
Nayoung Cheong - clarinet
Steffen Ahrens - electric guitar
Johannes von Buttlar - percussion
Zoé Cartier - violoncello
Riccardo Castagnola - sound direction

Funded by the Senator for Culture Bremen, klangpol - Netzwerk Neue Musik Nordwest and the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.